McCoy Tyner Discography by Leon Kerkstra

Over the past decades McCoy Tyner has played on a great deal of albums, such as those with Coltrane, his own trio, his bigband, with Sonny Rollins, Stephane Grappelli, Steve Grossman, Frank Morgan, etc. I will only provide you the information of rare albums or information not available anywhere else on the internet. For a complete discography, check the All Music Guide.

Autumn Mood
Released by Laserlight in 1997, Recorded in 1991.
Notice this is from the same recording session as 'Blue Bossa', the first two songs are also on 'Blue Bossa' !
featuring: Claudio Roditi, Raphael Cruz, Avery Sharpe and Aaron Scott.
songs: The Natural Bridge, Traces, The Monster and the Flower, Up - Jump - Spring, Autumn Mood.

Bon Voyage
Released by TimeLess Records in 1991, Recorded in 1987.
featuring: Avery Sharpe and Louis Hayes.
Notice the track listing on the original cd is not correct, this one is.
songs: Bon Voyage, Summertime, Don't Blame Me, You Stepped Out Of A Dream, How Deep Is The Ocean, Blues for Max, Jazz Walk, Yesterdays.

Just Feelin'
Released by QuickSilver, Release and Recording Dates unavailable,
but this is probably McCoy's first record with his current bass player Avery Sharpe, so somewhere between 1984 and 1986.
featuring: Avery Sharpe and Louis Hayes.
songs: Just Feelin', I Didn't Know What Time It Was, Blues for Basie, Berliner, You Don't Know What Love Is, There is No Greater Love, Manha De Carnaval.

Beautiful Love
Released by 'All at Once',
This is another cheap release of 'Warsaw Concert 1991'. Originally recorded on October 27, 1991, at the Operetta House, Warsaw Jazz Festival, Poland. This piano solo album has been released a couple of times by different Labels. The release of Fresh Sound Records is the original.
songs: Beautiful Love, Suddenly, Giant Steps, Darn That Dream, Miss Bea, Bluesin' With Bob, You Taught My Heart To Sing, Rhythm-A-Ning, Lady From Caracas, Monk's Dream, Rio, Naima.

Paris Bossa
Released by Moon Records
This album, recorded in Paris (1970), is a rather experimental recording featuring Azar Lawrence on Saxophone, Juny Booth on Bass, Wilby Blaine Fletcher on drums and Antonio Guilhermo De Sousa Franco on Percussions.
songs: Atlantis and Sahara Love Bossa

©2000 Leon Kerkstra. JRC.  JAZZ RESOURCE CENTER